atypicalreview

Comments The Empty Child

Gravatar
Tom
8 November 2005, 02:16 AM

1

“When he’s stressed, he likes to insult species,” Rose tells Jack about the Doctor. “Cuts himself shaving: does half an hour on life-forms he’s cleverer than.”

I totally missed that line the first time around. Watched this again this week. Still awesome.

I’m more excited about this Christmas than I’ve been about any Christmas in the last five years.

Gravatar
Tom
8 November 2005, 02:59 AM

2

Oh, and there’s another joke not long after I missed also, where Captain Jack has a really nifty sonic gadget that does a gazillion things, like blasting holes in objects and then reversing them to their initial state once you’re through… but all the extra features drain the battery so fast that you only get a few uses out of it. He was going to get the battery replaced by the people who made it but the Doctor (incidentally) blew up the factory.

Gravatar
Shannon
10 November 2005, 02:36 AM

3

When’s this back, Thomas? I hate to say, but I rather enjoyed it.

Gravatar
Shannon
10 November 2005, 02:37 AM

4

Oooo better yet when is John Barrowman’s spinoff out? And go to telling me to google it, I’m sure asking you is both more efficient and more annoying for you, therefore fun for me.

Gravatar
Tom
10 November 2005, 09:20 AM

5

Bwa ha ha. You’re converted! Partially.

There’s one episode out on Christmas, and then a new season of the same length starting in March (I think). The Barrowman spin-off, Torchwood, will be out after the Who season. So not for a while.

Gravatar
Shannon
10 November 2005, 02:49 PM

6

Hmm somehow “don’t go telling me to google it” came out.. very oddly, up there.

Does that mean he’s given up on his “Coupling” christmas special idea then? Poor, I think I’d almost rather that.

And I’m not converted - the new series I like, and probably half of britain agrees with me, but I still don’t see how you could get into the old episodes retrospectively. I’ve seen old Dr Who. There is no pysical way I could be converted to thinking they were any good (to watch today).

Gravatar
Tom
10 November 2005, 03:06 PM

7

The Coupling guy, Moffat, only wrote these two episodes of season one, and episode three of the upcoming season. He’s just an occasional writer, not a show-runner. So he won’t be busy or anything. But I can’t find anything but rumours about a Coupling christmas special.

The things you mention are the reason I said “partially”. I wouldn’t expect you to like the old stuff, for the same reason I wouldn’t expect you to like any old films or musicals or things either.

Gravatar
Shannon
10 November 2005, 07:07 PM

8

Oh come on. Thats a little unfair. Name me one person who doesn’t love Breakfast at Tiffany’s?? How about To Kill a Mockingbird? And do you really think me not liking old musicals is possible? I’m Shannon, remember?? This isn’t Matt you’re talking to. Oklahoma! anyone? Great older TV shows; Happy Days, M*A*S*H, Muppets

It doesn’t have to be new for me to like it Tom. I didn’t think you were so closed-minded as to think that me not liking your one lame tv-show would evolve into me nothing like anything from the last century! Whats with that??

Gravatar
Tom
10 November 2005, 07:24 PM

9

I was deliberately teasing you because I do in fact know you like those things!

My point is, there are many in this world, not all of them nerds (but most of them old enough to have watched it when they were kids in the 70s), who would list Doctor Who quite happily in your list of Great Older TV Shows, and I’d say it deserves it.

Your emphasis that you couldn’t like any of the old Who “today” amused me given that time clearly is not the issue for you, it’s how crap you think it is. Which is fair enough, there’s a lot of people who’d agree with you on that, too!

Comment on this Review

Name:

Don't Write Here:

Email (optional):

If you want a pretty picture, go to Gravatar.com and get one.

HTML is not allowed — instead, use:

  • _underscores_ for italics
  • __double underscores__ for bold
  • [link](http://www.atypicalreview.com/) for a link
  • * or - or at the start of lines to make lists — er, like this one
  • -- for a long dash such as this —

Leave a blank line between paragraphs. More complicated formatting can be found at the Markdown homepage.